MODWI.com : Missouri DWI Defense Attorney

MO Speeding Tickets | MO DWI | Request Information
Frequently Asked Questions | DWI FAQ | Chemical Test Refusal | DWI Glossary
Missouri DWI info | Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) | Administrative Alcohol Arrest Information | Chemical Tests | Refused to Blow | DWI Glossary
Minor in Possession (MIP) Law | Abuse and Lose Law | SATOP YCIP |

Missouri "Abuse and Lose"


Missouri Abuse and Lose Law
Missouri Abuse and Lose FAQ
Missouri Revised Statutes § 577.500
Driver License Suspension
Driver License Revocation
Driver License Reinstatement

MIP Lawyer - MO Criminal Defense Attorney - Minor in Possession Cases

The Missouri Abuse and Lose Law requires Missouri courts to suspend or revoke the driving privileges of any person determined to have committed any of the following offenses before turning 21 years of age:

· any alcohol related traffic offense; or
· possessing or using alcohol while driving; or
· possessing or using an illegal drug; or
· altering a driver's license (fake ID); or
· trying to use someone else's driver's license.

The driver license suspension period for a 1st offense Missouri Abuse and Lose Law violation is 90 days.  The driver license revocation period for the 2nd and subsequent Missouri Abuse and Lose Law violations is 1 year.


Missouri Abuse and Lose Law Summary

The Missouri Abuse and Lose Law requires Missouri courts to suspend or revoke the driving privileges of any person who is determined to have committed any of the following offenses when they were under 21 years old, upon their plea of guilty, conviction, or finding of guilt.

  1. Any alcohol-related traffic offense;
  2. Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol, committed while operating a motor vehicle;
  3. Any offense involving the possession or use of a controlled substance;
  4. Any offense involving the alteration, modification or misrepresentation of a license to operate a motor vehicle; and
  5. Any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol for a second time if both offenses were committed when the person was under 18 years of age.   

The driver license suspension period for a 1st offense Missouri Abuse and Lose Law violation is 90 days.  The driver license revocation period for the 2nd and subsequent Missouri Abuse and Lose Law violations is 1 year.

 

Missouri Abuse and Lose Law FAQ


How can I get my Missouri driver license back when it is suspended or revoked under the Missouri Abuse and Lose Law?

To get your Missouri driver license back (reinstated / secure reinstatement) when it is suspended or revoked under the Missouri Abuse and Lose law, the following two (2) items must be sent to Driver License Bureau, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200, before your suspension or revocation period ends:

I.  Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) completion form (or a comparable program completion form). The Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse will send this form directly to the Driver License Bureau upon completion of the SATOP program.

II.  $45 reinstatement fee. Money orders, cashier's checks and personal checks are accepted by the Driver License Bureau. It is requested that the drivers full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number is included on all checks.

          

When will I get my driver license back?

Once the suspension or revocation period has been served and the reinstatement requirements have been met, the Driver License Bureau should reinstate the driver's license and return it by mail to the driver along with a driver license reinstatement notice.

Can I have any type of driving privilege while I am

suspended or revoked under the Abuse and Lose Law?

You may be eligible for a hardship license (Limited Driving Privilege or "LDP"). The hardship license can be used to travel to and from work, alcohol treatment, medical treatment, school, etc. Click on one of the following for more information.

What is Missouri's Limited Driving Privilege (LDP)?

How do I apply for an LDP?

Only one Limited Driving Privilege (LDP) can be given to you in a five-year period. After September 30, 2005, a person cannot obtain a hardship license to drive a commercial motor vehicle.

What is an SR-22 insurance filing?

It is a form from your insurance company that shows your motor vehicle has liability insurance. (Click here to see an example of the SR-22 form)

How long do I need the SR-22 insurance filing?

The SR-22 is not required for reinstatement for an Abuse and Lose action; however, the SR-22 is required if you file for a Limited Driving Privilege.

Will I have to retake my test?

You will have to retake your test if your driver license has been expired for more than six months.

Why do I need to complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP)?

Missouri law requires that every person must file with the Driver License Bureau a SATOP completion form before their driver license may be reinstated if their driver license was suspended or revoked due to the violation of any state, county, or municipal law or ordinance involving the possession or use of a controlled substance, the possession or use of alcohol, the commission of an alcohol related traffic offense, or the alteration, modification, or misrepresentation of a driver license to operate a motor vehicle.

Where do I get information about SATOP classes?

SATOP Class information pages

Can I have have the Abuse and Lose action removed from my driver record?  If so, When?  How?

The Abuse and Lose action may be removed only after five years from the driver license reinstatement date. A written request  must be submitted to the Driver License Bureau requesting the Abuse and Lose action be removed from the Missouri driver record.


Missouri Revised Statutes

Chapter 577
Public Safety Offenses
Section 577.500

 

Suspension or revocation of driving privileges, persons under twenty-one years of age--violation of certain laws--surrender of licenses--court to forward to director of revenue--period of suspension.


577.500. 1. A court of competent jurisdiction shall, upon a plea of guilty, conviction or finding of guilt, or, if the court is a juvenile court, upon a finding of fact that the offense was committed by a juvenile, enter an order suspending or revoking the driving privileges of any person determined to have committed one of the following offenses and who, at the time said offense was committed, was under twenty-one years of age:

(1) Any alcohol related traffic offense in violation of state law or a county or, beginning July 1, 1992, municipal ordinance, where the judge in such case was an attorney and the defendant was represented by or waived the right to an attorney in writing;

(2) Any offense in violation of state law or, beginning July 1, 1992, a county or municipal ordinance, where the judge in such case was an attorney and the defendant was represented by or waived the right to an attorney in writing, involving the possession or use of alcohol, committed while operating a motor vehicle;

(3) Any offense involving the possession or use of a controlled substance as defined in chapter 195, RSMo, in violation of the state law or, beginning July 1, 1992, a county or municipal ordinance, where the judge in such case was an attorney and the defendant was represented by or waived the right to an attorney in writing;

(4) Any offense involving the alteration, modification or misrepresentation of a license to operate a motor vehicle in violation of section 311.328, RSMo;

(5) Any offense in violation of state law or, beginning July 1, 1992, a county or municipal ordinance, where the judge in such case was an attorney and the defendant was represented by or waived the right to an attorney in writing, involving the possession or use of alcohol for a second time; except that a determination of guilt or its equivalent shall have been made for the first offense and both offenses shall have been committed by the person when the person was under eighteen years of age.

2. The court shall require the surrender to it of any license to operate a motor vehicle then held by any person against whom a court has entered an order suspending or revoking driving privileges under subsection 1 of this section.

3. The court, if other than a juvenile court, shall forward to the director of revenue the order of suspension or revocation of driving privileges and any licenses acquired under subsection 2 of this section.

4. (1) The court, if a juvenile court, shall forward to the director of revenue the order of suspension or revocation of driving privileges and any licenses acquired under subsection 2 of this section for any person sixteen years of age or older, the provision of chapter 211, RSMo, to the contrary notwithstanding.

(2) The court, if a juvenile court, shall hold the order of suspension or revocation of driving privileges for any person less than sixteen years of age until thirty days before the person's sixteenth birthday, at which time the juvenile court shall forward to the director of revenue the order of suspension or revocation of driving privileges, the provision of chapter 211, RSMo, to the contrary notwithstanding.

5. The period of suspension for a first offense under this section shall be ninety days. Any second or subsequent offense under this section shall result in revocation of the offender's driving privileges for one year.

About Us | Site Map | Legal Notice | Contact Us | The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements.
Copyright 1999-2009 MODWI.com. All rights reserved. This web site, and all information contained in this web site, is for general informational purposes only. This web site is not intended to be a substitute for specific legal advice about any legal case or matter, or to provide legal advice regarding any specific cases or legal matters, but only to provide general information regarding services offered. Your accessing, viewing, use, or response to this web site does not create an attorney-client relationship. An attorney-client relationship is created only upon our acceptance of your case after consultation and your full payment of attorney's fees and your agreement to pay fines and court costs in a timely manner.